Roman Colosseum

If you have read my post about Venice, you would know that I have been fortunate enough to visit Italy and go to a few major cities throughout the beautiful country. The last city we visited was Rome. Rome was very different from the other cities… it seemed like it was a city completely influenced by tourist traps and cheesy Italian restaurants. But… there was one part that I loooved…. the Colosseum!

rome.4

I had read a few books that took place in the Colosseum, and I was really looking forward to seeing it in person and trying to imagine how the Ancient Romans lived. That is something I always love to do – put myself in another persons shoes and live a day in their lives. I enjoyed the Colosseum so much because there are so many stories about it that make it so famous and important.

It was not completely how I imagined it… The inside was much smaller than I expected, even though it was still huge! When we were walking from our hotel to get there, I was positive that we were really far, since there were so many buildings and people. (For some reason, I had imagined it to be in the middle of some flat and empty land?) I hadn’t realized how close we were until I saw the tip of it peek through the buildings. Although I was shocked that it was in the middle of a big city, it was one of the most beautiful things I had ever seen!

rome.2

Once we reached the entrance, we walked through and saw all the underground cells and rooms, where people and animals would rest before putting on their “shows”. It was cool to see how they designed it.

Oh, and I forgot to mention that it was very very very very hot! As much water as we drank, it wasn’t enough. It was never enough! The people selling water bottles definitely made a lot of money on those hot summer days!

We took many pictures during this once in a life time opportunity and I’m really glad I have them to look back on. Even though Rome was not my favorite city, I would go back any day just to see the Colosseum.

Let me know the favorite city that you have ever traveled, and why you love it so much!

Leave a Reply

