Ojai, California

*Road trip song: “Castle On the Hill” by Ed Sheeran*

HELLO!

I’m finally doing another travel post! This one isn’t very exotic, but still pretty cool.

I took a road trip to Ojai, California!

Here’s a picture from the ride – o.2

(This is one of the rare times you will see mountains in California actually have green in them :))

Once we got there, we were starving and decided to get some breakfast/ brunch. We found this really cute restaurant and once we walked inside we knew we had to eat there!

It was really cozy, but there was an awesome live band and the decorations inside were really unique and beautiful!

o.3
The restaurant ^
o.5
The view from our booth: a couple was celebrating their 54th anniversary! They got up and started dancing to the live music! πŸ˜€
o.4
The street the restaurant was on

Basically I 10/10 recommend this cafe. It was incredibly friendly and the food was so good that I didn’t even get a chance take a picture of it before I ate it all :/

Conveniently, right across the street from the cafe was an art show. We had a lot of fun strolling through all the booths and admiring everything. This was such a friendly environment and everyone was just having a good time with their kids and pets!

o.7

o.8
The Ojai Bell Tower

Now, for my favorite part: THE BOOK FAIR!

(This was right outside of the library)

We had no idea this would be here today but I was so glad it was! We definitely spent some time picking out (a lot) of books..

o.9
Sorry I couldn’t get a better picture, it just seemed awkward in the moment to take out my camera and take pictures :/

I picked out a book called “Well Bred and Dead” by Catherine O’Connell and it’s a mystery. I also picked out two vocal scores. This was very out of the blue but they were 50 cents each and I thought why not. Keep in mind, all of these books were used.

o.19.jpg
The Vocal Scores actually have a bunch of piano pieces in them, which is why I got them (other than the fact that I thought they were super cool). I’m a piano player, if you didn’t already know πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

After that, we were walking back to our car when we saw this outdoor bookstore. Yes. A bookstore. Outside.

This was quite possibly the most cute, cozy, beautiful, and unique place I’d ever seen!

10/10 RECOMMEND. EVEN IF YOU AREN’T GOING TO BUY A BOOK. JUST GO AND ADMIRE IT.

o.11

 

o.12
I don’t even know what I was trying to take a picture of here.. FYI the sign reads: “When closed, throw coins in slot in the door for the amount placed on the book. Thank you.” πŸ˜€

o.13

o.15

o.16

o.17

o.18

Honestly these pictures speak for themselves. If you want a magnificent place to read where you are surrounded by a maze of literature ranging from car magazines to classics like “To Kill a Mockingbird”, this is your place.

That concludes this travel post! Hopefully many more to come..

Thank you for reading! I really hope you enjoyed! If you did, I would love if you liked, commented, or followed! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

 

 

6 thoughts on “Ojai, California

  1. Ron Pavellas says:

    I lived a few years in Ojai around 1990 and loved it.I believe you were visiting what may still be named “Bart’s Books”, the outdoor book shop where I’ve spent many an hour and dollar, returning many books for credit against future purchases. I recommend you find Cozy Dell Trail off of Highway 33 to hike, a modest effort, to see the Ojai valley more fully.
    https://www.trails.com/tcatalog_trail.aspx?trailid=HGS360-035
    Best wishes,
    Ron
    http://pavellas.com

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

