Belgian Waffles

HELLO!

In this post, we are going to be discussing something very special.                         Something very extraordinarily fantastic.                                                                       Something that should be experienced by every living soul in the solar system. Something that if not consumed, would be a wasted trip to Belgium.                                 Yes. You guessed correctly.                                                                                                               I’m talking about WAFFLES.

Belgium is obviously famous for their heavenly waffles, topped with chocolate, Nutella, strawberries, bananas, or even ice cream.

DSCN4899

dscn4872.jpg
HAVE YOU EVER SEEN NUTELLA JARS THIS BIG? Because I had to take a minute or two to myself when I saw these.. If you didn’t already know, I have a slight obsession with Nutella. It’s completely normal.

You might have not known that there are actually two different types of waffles: the classic Belgian waffle, and the Liege waffle.

The Belgian waffle is lightweight, airy, and is shaped into a large rectangle. We had this waffle when we took a day-trip from Brussels to Bruges and Ghent.

DSCN4873

DSCN4871
This is probably the most beautiful array of desserts I have ever seen! These stores make it impossible to avoid eating one..
IMG_0940
The classic Nutella and strawberry waffle 😛

The liege waffle is a lot thicker and packed with sugar. We ate this waffle the first day we arrived at Brussels and it was a bit ‘too much’. I don’t know exactly how to describe it, but personally, I would recommend the Belgium waffle, which was a much better partner to the chocolate overload on top!

DSCN4902
A plain liege waffle.

dscn4901.jpg

DSCN4903

 

To sum up this short post, waffles are an amazing part of Belgium’s culture and I can’t even imagine a trip to Belgium without experiencing either type. I promise you, there is absolutely no way to avoid the temptation when you see the window displays!

Anyways, thank you so much for reading my post and I hope you enjoyed!

I know I definitely enjoyed eating all of those waffles.. I think I had enough sugar and chocolate on this trip to last me a year.. or two..

 

 

3 thoughts on “Belgian Waffles

Leave a Reply

