How I met the JONAS BROTHERS w/ Radio Disney in 2009

This post is definitely going to be a bit different, but I just had to address something that’s been on my mind a lot lately. The Jonas Brothers are back!! You probably already knew that because they’ve released two new songs, “Sucker” and “Cool,” and spent a week on James Corden. I had heard rumors of them getting back together, but I never paid much attention to them because I thought they weren’t true. Buuut the rumors were true, and I’m so excited to see what’s in store for them and their new album!

I’m not here to talk about what’s going on now, though. I’m here to talk about what happened exactly 10 years ago, when my family and I met the Jonas Brothers!

People always get so shocked when I tell them this story because it’s something that’s so unlikely to happen now. I just can’t imagine how this whole situation even worked out in the first place, so I’m going to tell the story of how we got free front row seats and meet-and-greet passes to their concert!

It was early August in 2009 and my family had just moved into a new house in a completely different city, and we were super unfamiliar with the neighborhood. Probably on the second day we moved into the house, my mom found a newspaper clipping mentioning that Radio Disney was going to be at the local mall in a few days giving away Jonas Brothers’s concert tickets, and as the intense JB fans my sister and I were, we went!

Basically, Radio Disney set up a booth right outside of the mall and held a karaoke contest where a bunch of kids sang to Jonas Brothers’s songs to win tickets. My sister and I both sang “Year 3000,” and I don’t remember much except that I hardly knew the lyrics because I was so young! My sister definitely did a better job (she’s 6 years older than me) and managed to get in 2nd place! The prize was that the 1st and 2nd place winners got 4 tickets each to see the Jonas Brothers live at the Staples Center and meet them backstage!

The day of the concert finally came and we were beyond excited. We drove down to the Staples Center and managed to get the crowds and find the Radio Disney booth! One of the Radio Disney crew members led us and the other group that won tickets through the line of the meet-and-greet before the concert. I remember the line being suuuper long and having to wait outside in the sun for at least an hour. Ironically, the actual meet and greet only lasted for about 30 seconds! We each met and shook hands with each member of the band, stood for a picture, and that was it! I mean, it was a pretty crazy 30 seconds, especially for my sister who was literally about to start crying; my parents were slightly less amused (lol), and I just remember being so elated that it didn’t even feel real (to be fair, it was extremely rushed)! I would have loved to spend a few more minutes just talking to them, but I definitely understand that there was a lot of people to get through and the whole situation is probably overwhelming for them.

After the meet and greet, we headed to the concert! Okay, I’m not sure if this part was a mistake (I’m just assuming it was), but Radio Disney switched the 1st and 2nd place tickets. So while the first place winners were supposed to have front row seats and we were supposed to be further back, it was flipped and somehow we ended up with front row tickets!

This concert was back when the stage was a circle and the opening act was Jordan Sparks – “Battlefield” was literally one of my favorite songs, so it was really fun to see her perform! We were so close to the stage that my sister managed to touch Jordan Sparks’s hand (this was pretty random, but I remember her freaking out over it); although this wasn’t exactly the perfect situation for “4 foot something” tall me who could hardly see over the stage, I still had a great time 😂

Here are a few pictures my dad took at the concert!

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset
Processed with VSCO with a6 preset
Processed with VSCO with a6 preset
Processed with VSCO with a6 preset
Processed with VSCO with a6 preset
Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Aaaaand that’s how we met and got front row tickets to a Jonas Brothers concert in 2009! It’s so crazy that this was ten years ago. Anyways, I’m definitely going to be the first person buying their concert tickets when they announce their tour (which better happen sometime soon), and I’m so happy we all get to kind of relive our childhood in a weird way.

Thank you so much for reading this post! It was very different than usual but I hope you enjoyed this crazy story. I’ll see you in my next post!

< 3 Pauline

Blog – giraffeviewblog.com

Instagram – @giraffeviewblog

Pinterest – @giraffeviewblog

Tumblr – @giraffeview

2 Replies to “How I met the JONAS BROTHERS w/ Radio Disney in 2009”

  1. This is so cool omgosh! I am so jealous, especially considering how cute they all turned out. I remember being a huge fan of the Jonas Brothers when Camp Rock and JONAS was released on Disney and now look at them! xx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment